Little Ms Little Ms Can’t Be Wrong



UNITED HEALTH CARE SUCKS

I think they want my husband to die. For whatever reason those bastards have decided that they are not going to cover most allergy medication this year. So the one that did work for him the sent a letter stating that they are no longer going to cover any portion of it. Nice so I pay my premium to you for what fucking reason? And the dumb ass list of medications that they gave that they will cover of course do not work. Uh yeah we already tried all of those that is why he was on the one that had the most expensive fucking co pay you bastards.

Yeah so if anyone has a surplus of Allegra D sitting around could you send it our way please….


Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Heather says:

    I’m with you. The bastards told me today they won’t cover my migraine medication, Imitrex. I’ve been taking it for years and it’s the only thing that works. Does that matter? No. They don’t care. It’s too expensive for them – oh waaaa….they might have to spend some money on their customers. God forbid.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 4 months ago
  2. * s00zi says:

    I know this is late….

    You can’t fault the Insurance Company for this.
    The company you / your husband works for is at fault.
    Your company, not the Insurance Company, defines the rules.

    It is a common misconception but I can tell you that I have been privy to tons of companies dropping coverages on their members because cost was too high. Frankly, the Insurance Company doesn’t really care what programs are chosen – they will do whatever is requested by the Client.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 2 months ago
  3. * Donna Fleetwood says:

    I’ll up you one on this! My husband has throat cancer and is currently existing with a trach tube and a gastric feeding tube because he cannot swallow without ingesting the food into his lungs. We are waiting to find out what treatment will be the most viable for him to resolve the tumor situation, but in the meantime United HealthNOcare has told us they do not cover his enteral (feed tube) feedings. Their reason? I’ll type the paragraph so you can see their warped illogic:

    “Benefits are not available for custodial, domiciliary, or maintenance care (including administration of enteral feeds) which, even if it is ordered by a Physician, is primarily for the purpose of meeting personal needs of the Covered Person or maintaining a level of function, as opposed to improving that function to an extent that might allow for a more independent existence.”

    Well yeah, maintaining a level of function, i.e., living! And yes it certainly does meet his personal needs that of nutrition since he can’t get it any other way. I am hoping this is the result of an overzealous clerk trying to get her non payment of benefits bonus, and that I can resolve it with someone higher up… but I’m not holding my breath

    And I have been in touch with the benefits administrator about other issues United denied – and what they claimed was not in our plan was IN FACT IN our plan, and the situation was corrected. But it took 5 solid days of phone calls, getting the benefits admin involved and her contact at United.

    When looking for in home healthcare providers, I and the doctor’s office called multiple times, received multiple lists of in-network providers only to be told by each and every one they are NOT with United – I’m in the DC metro area not in the sticks somewhere.. how can this be? Again they mislead, then deny, then get really nasty when they are called on it.

    Anyone want to join me in a full page ad in the Washington Post??

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 11 months ago
  4. * tam says:

    A United Health Care nurse just called me at home to make sure that I was choosing the best health care option for me. I thought that was what my Medical doctors already did?

    The registered nurse who called me was part of their new Decision Support Team that can help me make sure that I’m looking at all my health care options, i.e., choosing the least expensive option that will solve my problems.

    Excuse me, but these registered nursers work for United Health Care the company that is suppose to pay my medical expenses. Therefore, isn’t this a COMPLETE CONFLICT OF INTEREST!

    Furthermore, I just scheduled my surgery, and when I received the phone call from UHC I assumed that it was in regards to the pre-approval process. The nurse didn’t explain–until much later in the phone call after she fished and fished for personal health care information–that she supposedly didn’t have anything to do with the approval or disapproval of my health care claims. She just wanted to make sure that I was choosing the right option for me. How considerate.

    Nothing is for free.

    United Health Care would like you to think that they are on your side, giving you an added benefit, health care counseling. In reality, they are trying to cut costs. They would like you to pay their premiums and receive the cheapest treatment option available. No wonder their financial statements look so good.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 10 months ago
  5. * JOHN DOE says:

    I HATE uhc. THEIR PRIOR AUTHORIZATION TO FINALL GET A MEDICINE COVERED TAKES SO LONG THAT THE PRESCRIPTION EXPIRES BEFORE THEN. FUCKING BS. THEN THEIR ROBOT TELESERVE (REAL OR ACTUALLY ROBOTIC) PEOPLE ARE A WHOLE NOTHER STORY. UNITED HEALTHCARE IS THE WORST HEALTH INSURANCE EVER.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 10 months ago
  6. * UHC HATER says:

    They just bought out Pacific Care. We got folded into this new United Health care company, and I hope they all burn in hell. I am not kidding, may they burn in hell! I am just thankful that our employer is now shopping for another provider. Our poor human resources department is getting flooded with calls from all the people that can’t get medications covered.

    Horrible horrible company. If your company is thinking about going with this plan, run the other way.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 9 months ago
  7. * Jon says:

    United Health Care is screwing me too… if you’re given the option to get a different provider – do so!

    I went to an urgent care center – one that ‘accepted’ United Health care – the co pay was supposed to be $75, but in the end turns out to be $399.

    I should mention that this was the only urgent care center that ‘accepted’ United Health Care – all the others in my area won’t – because United Health Care doesn’t pay claims.

    Jon

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 8 months ago
  8. * JHN says:

    Several people in my office have experienced UHC’s denail of their claims for procedures that were clearly covered. They can’t be the only ones dealing with this. Their claims were sorted out and eventually paid, but only after much effort. Makes you wonder how many don’t go through it and just pay themselves.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 7 months ago
  9. * Roy says:

    Recently diagnosed with stage 5 renal failure, UH won’t pay for surgery for dialysis access and dialysis because they say it’s pre existing. Only after 12 months will they kick in. I explained my doctor said I need dialysis now.
    They’re so full full of it! Can’t wait till we get national healthcare and put these scam artist out of business.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 7 months ago
  10. * Troy says:

    I feel your pain. I used to work for United Health Group.
    Believe me, as a former insider, they do not care about the health of their insured members. What they DO care about; the only thing they care about, is the financial bottom line. While I was working there, I was made to take a week-long class on the processing of claims. The essence of this class was “how can we obfuscate, and complicate a claim most effectively?”, “How can we muck up the system of filing claims, how can we find minor errors on claims, and send them back to the members?”, “How can we make it so difficult and complex for the insured member when they’re filing their claim, that they just get fed up with the red-tape and the BS, and eventually just pay the claim themselves…”

    Yeah, that type of thing REALLY, and ACTUALLY happens at insurance companies. Believe me. I used to work for United Health Group.

    Sure, their advertising is all about, “We care about you”, BUT, in reality, the only thing they care about is making money, and if they can save a coupla hundred bucks by denying your claim, they will look into EVERY POSSIBLE way to do so, to the point that they give classes to their claims reps, to show them how to muck up a claim, stall a member, slow it down, or deny it all-together.

    Aren’t you glad you’re insured by United Health [we don't] Care?

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 7 months ago
    • * CP says:

      Hey Troy- Would you be willing to talk to us about your experiences at United Healthcare?

      If so please drop me a line at cpage@bravenewfilms.org

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 3 months ago
  11. * amber says:

    I have UHC and I have migraines and they do pay for my imitrex but it doesn’t work for me anymore and the Dr changed me to Frova and they don’t cover it. They don’t cover alot of things!!!!!!!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 6 months ago
  12. * Scott A. says:

    My son had some fear issues (lightning) last Summer as well as some other concerns. To see a psychologist, I must first see his PCP, then he has to see a developmental pediatrician who accepts UHC to make a preliminary diagnosis, and then (if we get referred) he can finally see a psychologist as long as they accept UHC. It was 6 months to see the developmental pediatrician, and another 3 months to see the psychologist. Our appointment is tomorrow….in May of the following year. As an added plus, I have to get all the referrals done during each step of the way, and I can’t get a referral set up a month or two in advance, I have to wait until 2 weeks before an appointment. Of course, the psychologist will probably be some 3rd rate person straight out of college.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 5 months ago
  13. * Sucker says:

    As a former employee of UHC working in a call ctr, you people are correct in everything you say. The CEO then (McGuire) was totally corrupt and now the company has to reinstate their tax and stock option information for the past 7 years.

    I have ran into many former employees who just quit (like me) who couldn’t take it anymore. At the facility I worked at they had a smoking area outside the main building. It was a glass tiki hut just outside the side entrance (viewable from road). It was always packed. Is this appropriate for a Health Care employer?

    Most of the people sucked who worked there. I used to say ‘good morning’ to this ‘smoker-babe’ who sat next to me. She had recently quit her bar tending job to return to UHG. Yes, return! Anyway, she told me after about a week, the I need not say ‘hello’ to her anymore because we were not on the same team. Good ridance, bitch. She continued to come in late smelling like an old smoked up whore from last nights bar stool.

    You can just imagine why you’re customer service sucked.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 5 months ago
  14. * Sally smith says:

    Warning. If you can at ALL AVOID NOT HAVING UNITED HEAlthcare as your provider, do itl They are corrupt and will deny and delay any medical coverage they can. Read their corporate Web site, which states how concerned and involved they are with health care for Americans, but don’t believe it. I know from experience. How we change this, i don’t have any idea. but for those of you who have a choice NOT to use them, DON’T. You will be sorry. You will become their victim, not their plan participant or ‘Member” as they like to call you. My child was denied major life-threatening medical benefits. If you are an HR person looking to hire UHC as a provider, PLEASE pass them by. They will promise you all kinds of services, and then screw you and your employees. I beg you, don’t do to your company what my company did to its employees. UHC is a poor, poor quality organization. You can find a better buy elsewhere. Look at the JD Power study recently released.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 3 months ago
  15. * concerned wife says:

    I can feel for you. My husband has UHC as his primary but also has Medicare A and a BCBS policy through my job. It is a constant merry go round with UHC denials that he has another primary insurance with medicare. Part A does not pay for doctors visits and testing. So they deny again saying that BCBS is primary. We wound up having to pay the cardiologist out of pocket after 15 months of this crap. They finally paid a very small part of it but I bet it was less than 20% of the total. I think I am going to insist he just cancel it and pay more for Part B medicare since he needs double coverage with his heart issues. We just watched SICKO–made me want to move to Costa Rico since they have better treatment of their patients there.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 3 months ago
  16. * Leah says:

    It is time to hold insurance companies like UHC accountable to their customers and the public! In Colorado alone, UHC’s profits have tripled since 2004 and they are now making over $50/month in pure profit off of each customer every month. It’s sick.

    Please e-mail me at leah@progressivecoalition.org to learn more and get involved!

    | Reply Posted 6 years ago
  17. * James says:

    I work for a major telecom company who unfortunately uses UNH. A year and a half ago I opted for allergy treatment which UNH states on my benefits summary page is 100% covered.

    Three weeks ago my doctor tells me that my claims are not being paid, so I am forced to call the witless UNH customer service reps. After 2 hours on the phone, I finally learn (after much back and forth) that UNH is changing the billing code to “substance abuse” which is not covered.

    How they decided that my allergy shots qualify as drug abuse escapes me, but after some explaining they admitted “their” mistake and pay the claims.

    Yesterday my doctors nurse calls me again stating that UNH again is refusing to pay my claims. Another hour on the phone and the UNH representative tells me the following.

    UNH REP: ” Sorry, but we made a mistake, your employer does NOT cover allergy shots sir. We placed the INCORRECT BENEFITS SUMMARY PAGE on our webpage (www.myunh.com). Sorry.”

    I then realized why they changed the medical billing code to substance abuse. Instead of rectifying the problem they simply changed the code so that they would not have to pay the claim. Again, they simply changed the billing code so that they would not have to pay the claim. Thankfully for me I know someone in this medical industry who clued me in on asking about the billing codes, otherwise I would have no clue what went wrong.

    So to be exact, my employer never agreed to cover allergy shots, but for some unknown reason UNH provided employees with a benefits summary explanation stating that they do. I can only begin to imagine how many thousands of employees in my company have made important and expensive medical decisions based upon an incorrect benefits summary explanation.

    My condition is not that serious, and I can deal with it but what else has been misrepresented. What about a person with a major illness who has been receiving treatment at no or discounted cost only to discover that they now have to pay 100% out of pocket or as in my case pay the deductible (couple of thousand $ for me) out of pocket.

    This is simply egregious and unacceptable.

    NO COMPANY in the business of human health care should ever be allowed to take their company pubic. Why, because as soon as a company goes public their primary focus is on the shareholder and taking care of their stock price. They are benefiting by cutting every corner and employing every nasty shameful trick to make $$ on our health and well being.

    I am all for free market capitalism but I draw the line at my health and well being.

    | Reply Posted 6 years ago
  18. * Margie says:

    As a former UNH employee I can attest to just how horrible this company is. I was shocked and even frightened at how little these people care about their clients and employees. Sales executives push only the most expensive and restrictive medical plans to employers in order to make their sales goals. What employers do not know is that UNH has HUNDREDS of medical plans but only a scant handful are ever presented to them.

    I’ve read doctors reports BEGGING UNH to please consider paying for certain medications and treatment for their dying patients. I’ve read letters from patients begging UNH to please help them live, please approve the medication.

    UNH will NOT take care of you or your family members if you find yourself critically ill. Yes, they will pay for your annual physical and preventative care, they will try everything to help you lose weight and stop smoking. However when you truly need their help, when your life is on the line they will turn their back. They will find every possible way not to pay your claim.

    By the way, the http://www.myuhc.com website allows you to input medical data, data that your doctor may or may not provide to UNH at the time of visit. DO NOT give UNH this information, it is used to evaluate how risky you or your company is and your premiums will go up.

    Moreover, if you are ever forced to find your own medical insurance they WILL use this info against you.

    | Reply Posted 6 years ago
  19. * writingwithelegance says:

    Thank you for writing this. I am having similar problems with them. I have the most insurance I can purchase from them. I finally found a cure for migraines (Treximet), but they won’t cover it. $250 for 9 pills. So I have been taking over the recommended dosage of Imitrex because that’s the only thing that works. Imitrex is $10 for 4 pills. I can afford that, but sometimes I get more than 2-4 migraines per month. I did not know that they would not refill the 4 pill Rx more than once in a month. Today I have one pill left. I called them to get a refill. They said they can’t refill it until December 27th. Thanks, United “Health Care.” Now I have to potentially go through Christmas with a migraine.

    I tried calling them to find out what else I could do. Their whole phone system is down. There is no way to talk to a customer service rep. I called tech support, since that is a tech issue. They could not help. They are in India. What am I paying for? This company sucks. I am writing a formal letter to my employer letting them know about the poor quality of service given by this company.

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 10 months ago
  20. * Randy says:

    I am having the same issues as all of you above. My wife is suffering from complications to diabetes, and you guessed it, they don’t cover maintenance. What a farce. They keep telling us we have medicare– which we do not! You can’t call because they do not give you the correct numbers to reach the proper departments. Thier Customer Service people are the worst I have ever seen–the lack knowkledge of terms and conditions and half of them cannot articulate themselves well enough to understand.

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 7 months ago
  21. * Richard says:

    UHC has a 3000 dollar deductible and we can’t afford to use it, we pay the premiums but at the end of the year all that will change. My wife has Migraines and the Topamax she is on cost 300+ dollars per month but until we meet the deductible it cost 700+ dollars, we will meet the deductible in 8 months, WOW…. Maybe 4 months of Co pays, what a saving??? UHC SUCKS big time…..

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago
  22. * Richard says:

    UHC has a 3000 dollar deductible and we can’t afford to use it, if it cost $400.00 you have to pay about 85% more to cover the deductible. We pay the premiums and can’t afford to use the insuance but at the end of the year all that will change, we are changing providers. My wife has Migraines and the Topamax she is on cost 300+ dollars per month but until we meet the deductible it cost 700+ dollars, we will meet the deductible in 8 months, WOW…. Maybe 4 months of Co pays, what a saving??? UHC SUCKS big time…..

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago
  23. * Cliff says:

    United Health Care is a group of corrupt people whose goal is to collect as many premiums as possible while denying any coverage they possibly can. They suck and should all burn in hell; they don’t belong in a business in which people’s lives are at stake: I hope every single fucking UHC employee gets a terminal illness and has to deal with the bullshit they put us through. I need a medication to survive and without it I degenerate. They denied it. They are killing me slowly and they are all fuckers. I hope they eat shit, and I dream of the day we scrap this ridiculous capatilist-driven healthcare system for a simple government-run health care system. Please, please, please, see the movie Sicko. It’s a Michael Moore documentary that goes to England, Canada and France to spend time with patients and doctors. They ALL laugh at our healthcare system and take PITY on us! Then Moore visits people in the US, and what a pathetic contrast. Please see the movie–you will be enlightened. Lets’ encourage government to take over healthcare and put these fucking insurance companies out of business.

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago
  24. * Elizabeth says:

    Thank you for this blog! Now I know I am not alone. I just spent the better portion of an hour on the phone with medco and UHC and getting no answer to either question. Apparently, the Generic medication Trinessa, a birth control pill, is no longer covered for “the purpose of birth control”. I have gone through pre authorizations and all sorts of shit just to get birth control so I don’t have another kid in 9 months but now they want an “explanation” directly from the doctor. WTF? What world are they living in? I don’t even know what to do now. I guess that is their plan to confuse and frustrate you for so long that you just give up. Well, it’s working.

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 5 months ago
  25. * Debra says:

    I agree!!! I haven’t used my insurance this year. I fell yesterday and injured my shoulder, I went to the doctor today and he prescribed Celebrex. UHC wouldn’t pay for it until the doctor does more paperwork which leaves me all weekend with nothing. I spoke to three supervisors at UHC and they said they needed to know that the prescription is appropriate for the diagnosis!!! Well, the doctor wouldn’t have written the prescription if it wasn’t “appropriate”. I’m a Registered Nurse and I know it’s “appropriate” for my injury. But some pencil pusher at a desk with no medical license is denying it. They have no problem taking the money out of my check every two weeks, I think I am going to start asking them for prior authorization before I pay them!!!! How could socialized medicine be worse than this? We are all just one major illness away from losing everything we have worked for!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 4 months ago
  26. * CP says:

    Hi Misty- I saw your posting about United Healthcare we are doing a video urging people to speak out against them. Would you be willing to speak with us on your frustrations with UHC?

    Thanks,
    Crystal

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 3 months ago
  27. * Tyre Taylor says:

    UHC really is a piss poor excuse for an insurance company.They spend all their time trying to get out of paying anything!I hope the CEO burns in Hell.What a miserable excuse for a company

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 2 months ago


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

